reinje's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cleaning Day

Remember that scene in Friends where Monica wishes for an even tinier vacuum cleaner so she could clean the smaller vacuum cleaner that she was using to clean her large vacuum cleaner? You know, I laughed at that, but deep inside I believed she was on to something.

Today was cleaning day. I started with the floors, of course. That�s what made me think of Monica. The Oreck isn�t working as well as it used to, malheureusement, and in the words of my piano guru, regarding the smaller Oreck, �Picks up bowling balls, my ass.�

I progressed from there to washing the floors. I have this vaguely guilty feeling, because I didn�t read the manual before I cleaned the parquet floors. I mean, I read the manual a while back, and noticed there was a list of what to use when cleaning the parquet floors. But I don�t remember what was on the list. So I just used my old stand-by, Mr. Clean. Anyway, now the floors have a dullish sheen to them to accompany my vague sense of shame.

Naturally, I washed walls and baseboards, fronts of cupboards, those sorts of things. I moved on to the bathroom. My favorite room to clean, because it�s so dirty! Have you ever noticed that faded pee stream that streaks down the front of the toilet? Sometimes it gets little pieces of lint stuck in it? To be honest with you, sometimes I clean it and sometimes I don�t. It�s not exactly the kind of thing that stares you in the face.

I have had more than one argument with Him regarding the pee stream. I mean, come on. The male organ probably invented the pee stream for goodness� sakes! But, you know, upon careful consideration I must confess that it is theoretically possible that the pee stream could be the fault of a woman. I won�t go into details, but suffice to say that there has been careful consideration on the part of moi.

After having planned it for months � months! � I finally decided to re-caulk the bathroom tub today. I mean I decided to, but I didn�t get very far. I had the exacto knife and was using it to pry away the old mildewy caulk from the tub corners. Well. The knife positively snapped off and the tip missed my eyeball by a hair! So I went at it with a table knife until the idea of getting one of those lodged in my eyeballs was too much for me.

I guess it�s all well and good, since I should be practicing anyway. I did manage to get through 41 pages of 'Death in Venice' this morning. That is, before the Cleaning Bug nibbled my bum.

Parting words from Grandma Betty: �You can get used to just about anything but a poke in the eye.�

Reinje

6:25 p.m. - 2005-04-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mavenhaven
travelinman
taipraita
jackhansolo