reinje's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Toilet Prostitute

Remember how I told you I was worried about finding opportunities to clean out here in Cherry Valley? At least, I think I mentioned my concern about that. Well, there was no reason to fear. Tonight a group of us were sitting outside on the porch enjoying the thunderstorm, and an opportunity came, just like that, from out of the blue. One of the other music staff here, a wonderful pianist and coach named Hugo, mentioned that he was going to hire somebody to clean his bathroom.

I practically leapt out of my plastic chair! It was weird, though, because he seemed a little taken aback by my keenness, almost as if no one had ever offered to clean his bathroom before. Can you imagine? He offered to pay me, which I thought was just ridiculous. And then I thought I should lay down a few ground rules, just so he doesn�t think I�m too easy. Conditions like: you must provide me with at least two rags, solvents (and none of the De-Solv-It hogwash either, thank you very much), bleach (natch!!!) and an old toothbrush for those hard-to-clean areas.

It�s moments like these that you believe in something like karma. I can hardly wait to get started!

Then one of my housemates, Matthew Timothy Striker (all the singers here have three names; it�s like a disease) asked me if I would clean his room, too. I said no � immediately. I don�t mean to gossip or anything, but Striker�s got a revolving door on his bedroom. I don�t even want to think about what I would find lying around on his bedroom floor, or in his closet, for that matter! Plus, he�s straight and Hugo�s a homosexual. Not to put too fine a point on it, but which room would you rather clean?

So there you have it! Once again, the duo worlds of Music and Cleaning have collided. The thing about being a musician, and being a cleaner, is that your work is never, ever done. And that�s why I love both fields so much!!!!!!!! I mean, what could be better than putting in hours and hours of labor, seeing wonderful results, and starting at square one again the next day? Nuscht.

Speaking of music, I feel like I kind of left you hanging last week with the whole Mr. Glitter-and-be-Gay fiasco. Maybe you thought I had been fired? Not so, my friend. Quite the contrary. My week improved by leaps and bounds, to the point where a Certain Someone Who Runs the Show said today, and I quote, �Oh, Reinje? She walks on water.� Walks on water!!! So, maybe I wasn�t in danger of getting fired, after all. When you think about it, I�m pianist on two of the five shows, playing for all 30 singers� auditions, and two recitals. I suppose that, in the words of my brother Eunice, they would �be up Shit Creek� if they fired me. So at least until tomorrow I figure I am safe.

Speaking of tomorrow, which is Tuesday, I wonder if that cleaning crew will be back again. They came on Tuesday last week, so I did a little pre-cleaning just in case they show up tomorrow. You know, kind of an expression of solidarity and good will between us. I didn�t clean too much though, lest they think I�m trying to put them out of a job. Just a few surfaces. The usual. I�m sure they�ll notice and be pleased.

Off to bed I go! Tomorrow�s bound to be an exciting day.

Pleasant dreams,

Reinje

12:41 a.m. - 2005-06-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mavenhaven
travelinman
taipraita
jackhansolo