reinje's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Things are Fine in Cherry Valley

Things are just fine here in Cherry Valley. Just fine.

Well, maybe just a bit boring on the social front. Although that�s kind of ridiculous, since I�m with people day and night. But maybe just a touch�boring�s not the right word for it�I have a restless feeling. Ennui has set in.

It�s times like this that I look back on my upbringing in the sticks of Cloverfield and how much imagination it took to survive each day on the unchanging prairie and feel guilty. I feel guilty because as a child I was never bored. If I had a ditch to play in, I was a happy camper. Or a pail or a couple of branches to rub together. I had a very vivid imagination as a child. It was actually something of a problem.

But now, working 10-12 hour days on Operas and living in New York during the year, rubbing shoulders with all the top mukkity-muks in the field and living my dream�.there should be no room in this life for the merest hint of boredom.

So, that�s not it. But ennui � yes, I must admit I do feel that.

The heat wave is over. Yesterday morning I declared through the screen door to all my housemates drinking coffee on the porch, �There�s a heat warning for this afternoon,� because He had sent me an email advising me to be careful in the heat. Only, it was blaus cold out there when I said it, so they all had a good laugh. To which I said, �You all think you are soooo funny.�

The heat wave is over, but not, so it seems, at Glitter-and-be-Gay Opera. People seem to be pairing up all over the place, and how. I try not to hear their �conversations� while I�m in the bathroom on the back end of the house, or notice who�s scoping out whom. For the most part, though, I admire these people for putting it out there, for telling it like it is. Life is too short to be demure about such things, don�t you think?

I applaud them, I really do. And the heat wave and the ennui don�t really bother me that much. Sometimes it�s invigorating to be immersed in your own melancholy and desire, especially when you have some good music to listen to. Music has a way of simultaneously heightening the senses and slaking thirst.

Well, I just re-read that last paragraph and it doesn�t sound anything like me! What happened to the girl who put all of these silly questions to bed with a good cleaning session? Music has its charms, but if you really want to tame the beast, log in some time with the vacuum and a dust rag, and you won�t even remember what it was you were so hot and bothered about.

Not so rein,

- Reinje

1:17 a.m. - 2005-06-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mavenhaven
travelinman
taipraita
jackhansolo