reinje's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Effort of a Different Kind

Not much to say about life here in Cherry Valley. OK, that is such a huge lie, but the truth about the matter is that it is after midnight and I need need NEED to go to bed.

I realized that today marks a week since I last wrote (I think?) and the reason I know that is...tomorrow is Tuesday and I'm still waiting for the cleaning crew to arrive.

Bad news, cleaning crews. Once they show up, you just end up letting your house go to pot while you wait for them to show up again. And now it's been two weeks and my bathroom screams, "There's a fungus amongus." I did, however, finally run the dishwasher. Guilty confession: I did not wash every dish. Matthew Timothy Striker drinks these wonderfully healthy protein drinks, but they fester in plastic containers all week, and when you finally get around to opening them, it's like a combination of sulfur, poison, and vomit. I speak the truth. So I just ignored the containers and left them on the counter. But I washed everything else, I promise!

Oooo, I'm sitting out on the porch typing this and Hugo just went into his house. Pang of guilt!!! I have yet to clean his bathroom!!! What am I saying, I have yet to clean my own bathroom?!?!

I think the ennui I felt last week has crept into the community at large here. There's a bit of a sense of impending...doom? success? Auditions are coming up in a week. I think people are gearing up for those. But I've noticed a bunch of sad faces around lately, and wish I could change that in some way.

Today was beautifully sunny and "gorge," as Chet likes to say, which is short for "gorgeous" for all of you who couldn't figure that out. I had the privelege of attending the first day of Death in Venice rehearsals with the mainstage singers, and I want to tell you that the lead character was stunning. I want to tell you that, and I will. The man was prepared, fabulous, and what's more, he interpreted this terrifying score and brought soul to it. V. good. V. nice.

I would be lying if I said it didn't inspire me. And it made me feel like all those hours I've spent on the score really paid off. Isn't it incredible? We all look for a leader. Think of the power each one of us has, not to be a Star, but simply to do our best, and think of the joy that results from our efforts.

This is a different kind of effort than the effort I forsook in one of my earlier entries. It's the concentrated focus of a true artist, which is what we all aspire to.

Wishing you sunny days and lovely music,

- Reinje

12:16 a.m. - 2005-06-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mavenhaven
travelinman
taipraita
jackhansolo